Dale M. Reid Photography. Fine Art Photography Awards nominates Dale M Reid in 3rd edition of Fine Art Photograhy AwardsNews and Reviews

Fine Art Photography Awards nominates Dale M Reid in 3rd edition of Fine Art Photograhy Awards
London, UK (April 16th, 2017)

In 2017 Fine Art Photography Awards received 6335 submissions from 89 countries around the world. Winners were selected by highly acclaimed panel of international judges, including: Tim Franco, Nadia Dias, Liza Van der Stock, Matilde Gattoni, Amélie Labourdette, Valery Klamm and Pierre Abensur.

About Winner:

Photographer Dale M Reid uses dark room techniques to imbue her botanical subjects with unimaginable personality and emotion. Reid's studies utilize different elements to produce sensual and whimsical portraits in high contrast with a keen eye for texture, form, and framing. Elegant white or black backgrounds highlight her subjects, allowing them to monopolize the photographs, filling the space with their unique voices and stories.

Once having to juggle her photography and finance careers, Reid was able to shape her distinct artistic voice, inspired partially by her life partner's diagnosis of Multiple Sclerosis, and her own experiences as a transgender woman.

press release - click here
nomination certificate - click here


Dale M. Reid Photography. Three nominations, Still Life, Professional category at the 11th Annual Black & White Spider Awards11th Annual Black and White Spider Awards Honors
Photographer Dale M Reid from Canada

Los Angeles November 5, 2016 – Professional photographer Dale M Reid of Canada was presented with the Annual Black and White Spider Awards Nominee title in Fine art and Still Life at a prestigious Nomination & Winners Photo Show webcast Saturday, November 5, 2016.

The live online gala was attended by over 10,500 photography fans around the globe who logged on to watch the climax of the industry's most important event for5 black and white photography.

11th Annual Jury members included captains of the industry from National Geographic, Washington, DC; The Armory Show, New York; TBWA, Paris; Victoria Film Festival, Canada; Aeroplastics Contemporary. Brussels; Studio Hansa, London; Fratelli Alinai, Florence; Australian Centre for Photography; Young & Rubicam, Lima; and Anthem worldwide/Marque Branding, Sydney who honored Spider Fellows with 627 converted awards and 951 nominees in 31 categories.

"It is an incredible achievement to be selected among the best from the 7,556 entries we received this year," said Basil O'Brien, the awards Creative Director. "Morning Reflections in the Fine Art category; and Can I Join In and Oyster Mushroom 27 in the Still Life category, represents black and white photography at its finest, and we're pleased to present her with the title of Nominee." Jury member Paola Anselmi, interdisciplinary curator and arts writer in Australia added, "As always it was a real treat to be part of the program. Congratulations to all involved and to all the remarkable photographers who gift us new insights into the world and ourselves." "A truly amazing set of entries, so many deserving winners," added Marcel Wijnen, Creative Director at Anthem Worldwide.

BLACK AND WHITE SPIDER AWARDS is the leading international award honoring excellence in black and white photography. This celebrated event shines a spotlight on the best professional and amateur photographers worldwide and honors the finest images with the highest achievements in black and white photography.

w - thespiderawards.com

May 2016. Liz Daly Culture Digest review of NAWA Gallery solo exhibition

Liz Daly published a review of the Dejeuner exhibition at NAWA Gallery in New York City.

» » Click here to read the review.

10th Annual Black and White Spider Awards Honors
Photographer Dale M Reid from Canada

Dale M. Reid Photography. Five nominations, Still Life, Professional category at the 10th Annual Black & White Spider AwardsLos Angeles November 21, 2015 – Professional photographer Dale M Reid of Canada was presented with the 10th Annual Black and White Spider Awards Nominee title in the category of Still Life at a prestigious Nomination & Winners Photo Show webcast Saturday November 21, 2015.

The live online gala was attended by over 10,000 photography fans around the globe who logged on to watch the climax of the industry's most important event for black and white photography.

10th Annual Jury members included captains of the industry from Bonhams, Random House, Aeroplastics Contemporary, Stockholm City Museum, Annenberg Foundation, Leo Burnett, FTM Art Advisory and Fratelli Alinari who honored Spider Fellows with 505 coveted title awards and 943 nominees in 31 categories.

"It is an incredible achievement to be selected among the best from the 7,686 entries we received this year," said Basil O'Brien, the awards Creative Director. "Dale M Reid's five photographs, were exceptional images entered in the Still Life category, represent black and white photography at its finest, and we're pleased to present her with the title of Nominee." Jury member Diane Ruggie from Velocebella agency added, "The gallery of winners and runners up has true stopping power."

BLACK AND WHITE SPIDER AWARDS is the leading international award honoring excellence in black and white photography. This celebrated event shines a spotlight on the best professional and amateur photographers worldwide and honors the finest images with the highest achievements in black and white photography.

w - thespiderawards.com

Trans Canadian Photographer Part Of Unique Chicago Event
Ross Forman, Windy City Times. 3 December 2014

"Initially, the focus of Dale M. Reid's photography was related to landscapes (maritime, urban and seascapes), along with floral studies and still life. During the past four or five years, her subject material has switched to floral studies and still life shot in the studio.

In the still-life category, her recent series is the "Oyster Mushroom.

Due to the shapes and textures of the oyster mushroom, these images are more abstract and interpretative, she said. "I also shoot pears and the feel of those images tend to be whimsical, such as 'pears dancing in the rain,'" and more.

Reid, a transwoman who lives in Toronto, will bring her work to the Windy City for the 14th annual One of a Kind Show and Sale Chicago, set for Dec. 4-7 at the Merchandise Mart. Reid joins more than 600 artists from across North America to showcase their imaginative, handmade creations."

To read the entire article - windycitymediagroup.com

October 18, 2014. 9th Annual Black Spider Awards Nominations

"It is an incredible achievement to be selected among the best from the 8,508 entries from 73 countries that we received this year. Your six exceptional images entered in the Still Life, Professional category, represent black and white photography at its finest and we are pleased to present you with the title of Nominee."
~ Basil O'Brien
Creative Director
Black & White Spider Awards

Click here to view the winners and nominees in the Still Life, Professional category.

The awards international Jury included captains of the industry from The Royal Photographic Society, FoMu Fotomuseum, Aeroplastics Contemporary, Torch Gallery, Stockholm City Museum to Fratelli Alinari in Florence who honored Spider Fellows with 298 coveted titles awards and 957 nominees in 14 categories.

You can view the 9th Annual Winners Gallery at thespiderawards.com.

Black & White Spider Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence in black and white photography. This celebrated event shines a spotlight on the best professional and amateur photographers worldwide and honors the finest images with the highest achievements in black and white photography.

September 2014. Reviewed on World Wide Art Los Angeles website

Despina Tunberg (Art Director of WWALA) has published a review on the World Wide Art Los Angeles website about my October 2014 show.

» » Click here to read the review.

January 2014. Reviewed in arte fotografico (Spain)

Late last year, I was invited to have ten images from my mushroom series featured in the Spanish magazine 'arte fotografico' along with thirteen other international photographers. This edition of the magazine features still life images. This is a true honor and represents another significant development in my photography career.

» » Click here to download the exerpt from arte fotografico.

October 19, 2013. 8th Annual Black Spider Awards Nominations

I am pleased to announce that at the 8th Annual Black & White Spider Awards ceremony held October 19, 2013, I was honored with six nominations -- the most in the Still Life, Professional category. From the 9,456 entries received from 75 countries, my work received a high percentage of the overall votes, marking the third time that I have been recognized at this prestigious event. Click here to view the award.

Black & White Spider Awards is the leading international award honoring excellence in black and white photography. This celebrated event shines a spotlight on the best professional and amateur photographers worldwide and honors the finest images with the highest achievements in black and white photography. The Awards Jury represents the industry's biggest names and tastemakers, from TATE, NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC, FRATELLI ALINARI, THE ART NEWSPAPER, CHEIM & READ of New York and more, who reviewed the entries online before making the nomination shortlist and honoring 246 title awards and 938 nominees in 14 categories. Images are judged on the basis of artistic merit, originality, subject and style. Click here to visit their website.

March 28, 2013. Preview: Food Art at Next Week's Affordable Art Fair in NYC

Food has inspired artists for centuries. And lately, as food as become a hot topic on TV and in pop culture in general, it also seems to be more prevalent in the art world. So it should come as no surprise to find plenty of gastronomically inclined pieces on offer at next week's Affordable Art Fair. From photographs of mushrooms resembling tangled clumps of human bodies to colorful triptychs of ingredient pairings, the fair features art that will help you replace that college-era poster still hanging on your kitchen wall. Read more click here.

July 26, 2012. Snap, crackle, pop: Article by Serafin LaRiviere published in Extra

Serafin writes: "Sometimes it seems that anyone can call themselves a photographer these days, armed with digital cameras, high resolution printers and some basic Photoshop ability. But skills like composition, lighting and perspective can't be replicated by computer software and still serve to set the trained artist aside from the dabbling hobbyist." Read more click here.

November 18, 2011. Interview Testimonial with an Alycia Kaback's Women's Summit Attendee

When did you start doing photography? "Photography has been a part of my life for over 30 years and it was a hobby that I initially had. In 1999, I started looking at it as an art form and started developing it into a second career and 5 years later took the plunge to make..."
» » read more

May 2011. One of Top 10 Exhibits

For the 2011 Contact Photography Festival, my exhibition 'Minus Color' was recognized by the Festival Director, Darcy Killeen, as one of the Top 10 Exhibits. Darcy's Top 10 are:

March 21, 2011. Artwork has been reviewed on NY Metro art scene blog.

"We entered through the Artists Project and talked at length with a few artists that caught my eye. The first being Dale M.Reid from Toronto. It was her dancing pears in the rain and her florals that enthralled me. The stark black and white imagery suits my liking." Click here to read more.

January 8, 2011. Phenomenal Photographer Enters the Framework of Stanford Who's Who

Click here to read more.

January 24, 2010

I am pleased to announce that at the 5th Annual Black & White Spider Awards, I was honored as a nominee for the category Still Life | Professional for my Pear Affair #2 image. This was a first time submission. While the image did not make it to the winners section, but to see my work included amongst top international photographers is one of the highlights of my photography career. To view the Still Life \ Professional nominees please click here.

Click here to see the Black & White Spider Award certificate.

Black & White Spider Awards is the leading international award honouring excellence in black and white photography. This celebrated event shines a spotlight on the best professional and amateur photographers worldwide and honors the finest images with the highest achievements in black and white photography.

Thousands of images are submitted each year with only a few hundred images making it to the Nominee status by consensus of the Jury. The Nominee shortlist consist of images that have received the highest percentage of votes overall and is the shortlist from which the winners are decided. The nominated photographers were selected by a who's who Jury Panel from the international photography community, including Tate Gallery (London), Sotheby's (London), Magnum Photos, The Amory Show, Hamiltons (London), Galerie Baudoin Lebon (Paris), Photo Life Magazine, Fratelli Alinari Photography Museum (Florence), and Sandra Byron Gallery (Sydney).

You can view the 5th Annual Winners Gallery at thespiderawards.com.

Dale M. Reid Photography - 5th Annual Black and White Spider Awards nominee

examiner.com. December 5 2009

"... returning artist Dale M. Reid spoke about her distinctive black and white photography in an artist demonstration at the Studio... These animated and dynamic compositions of pears, flowers and captured moments in the urban and natural landscape defy the restraints of tone to embrace a full range of values." View the full article and slide show online. Downloadable *.pdf click here.

October 14, 2009

CBC National News story 'A Tale of Three Lives'. I was featured along with two other women that left the corporate world to pursue their passion.

The Toronto Star. March 29 2008

Spring 2008 One of a Kind Show & Sale click here. ( *.pdf format )

What People Are Saying

"Probably wouldn't remember me from the Javits Center, but I will never forget you. You are so lovely and your talent, well there are just not enough words to express. I was so taken by your pears as my husband said your favorite fruit. After inquiring how you came up with the concept, I was even more in awe. Not to mention the roses, well..."
~ IGH, New York

"Dale Reid is a beautiful photographer. I love the way that she is able to dodge light in the darkroom to obtain the purity of the white seen in the cloud of fog floating over the hidden trails. The white tulips on a black background are not only classic they are breathtaking The 2 hugging pairs depict a warm embrace. The light captured upon the boats glimmered in the mist.
Dale is a true Photographer. One that is able to see the beauty that appears in the chemical bath as they wash into focus. The depth that Dale is able to capture is reminiscent of Ansel Adams. Thank you for sharing your gift with me."

~ Artfully Yours, Melissa Ayr

"I am finding your images unforgettable. They have stayed in my consciousness with their beauty, their playfulness, the elegance of your vision."
~ Maida, New York

"I was stunned when I passed your booth at The One of a Kind Show. Stunned by the beauty I saw. You take a simple pear and turn it into something that is truly beautiful. I was captivated and each piece told a story. The poise of each object gave it a character, and attitude and a personality. The object of your vision took on life and with such gave the viewer a story. I was not only inspired to pick up my old 33 mm Canon camera and to get back out there and starting taking pictures of what I saw as beautiful, but to share a piece of me. A picture can move mountains, yours move the world! "
~ Patricia. Oakville, Ontario

"Back in the 1900's I used to attend the One of a Kind Show in Toronto when my daughter was at U of T. It was always a highlight of my trip. I need to tell you that your display that I saw today in Vancouver has remained in my mind. There were two booths that particularly excited me. Yours was one and the other was a fibre art display. It was hard to move on from your display. Some of the images are still with me and I am enjoying looking at your website. What a gift you have. My father was a woodcarver and musician and he encouraged me. I have tried to do the same with my now grownup children. I encourage you Dale and look forward to seeing some more of your work next year."
~ Silv, Yarrow, B.C. (in the Fraser Valley)

"It was great seeing your work. Of all the pictures we saw, yours was the most inspiring both from a composition and technical point-of-view. I wish you much success."
~ M.D.

"A pleasure to have the honour of your comments. As an artist you have a vision and passion. My favourite is Liberty Street - View 1 - the lighting you have captured is outstanding."
~ D.W.

"Always an adventure seeing your work."

Letters of Interest

Muse 08 Carnivale

Letter of support and thanks. click here. ( *.pdf format )

"As host of Muse 08 Carnivale, our 9th annual silent art auction in support of Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, New Leaders of Sunnybrook Foundation owes a great debt of gratitude to community-minded individuals like you for making it possible to leave an impact on healthcare excellence. Your invaluable contribution of your artwork has helped us to make an investment that will improve the quality of life we enjoy in Toronto."
~ Angela Graham. Muse 08 Cabinet. New Leaders of Sunnybrook Foundation


Dale M. Reid
Contemporary Fine Art Photography
e - info@dalemreidphotography.com
Studio and Darkroom -
146 Thirtieth Street
Studio 230
Toronto, Ontario, Canada. M8W 3C4
Directions/ Map - click here
Mailing Address -
#1013 - 2261 Lake Shore Blvd W
Toronto, Ontario M8V 3X1
© 2007-2017. all rights reserved.

Upcoming Exhibitions

Sign-up for e-newsletter

your email address

Dale M. Reid Photography - LinkedIn, PayPal Dale M. Reid Photography - LinkedIn
Dale M. Reid Photography. 11th annual Black and White Spider awards nominee
xguru, Inc. website design, email newsletters, graphic design, ISP hosting thinking web.